Ateneo Honors Sports Hall of Fame Awardees

November 21, 2012
Arlet Coronado

“Excellence in sports has always been a part of our Ateneo tradition” said Fr. Jett Villarin, the Ateneo University President. The Ateneo Sports Hall of Fame Inc.’s mission is “Finding Heroes”. They embody the very meaning ofmagis—aiming for excellence. They serve as an inspiration to young athletes and achievers. Every three years, those who embody this Ateneo tradition are honored and recognized.  

 Last November 17, 2012, in the Leong Hall of Ateneo de Manila University these athletes and contributors were acknowledged by the Ateneo Sports Hall of Fame Inc. Alumni, current student athletes, loyal supporters and contributors to the athletic programs of the university gathered to honor the new inductees to the Ateneo Sports Hall of Fame.

The board of directors nominated Eddie Apacible, Pitong Custodio, Tony, Cuyengkeng, Piquillo Enage IV, Danny Francisco, Jun Gonzales, Andy Nañagas, Olsen Racela, Jun Reyes and Eric Reyes as the latest additions to the Ateneo Sports Hall of Fame.

‘There is pressure in striving for excellence” said Fr. Villarin. “I am witness to the magic St. Ignatius speaks of. We want to have men and women of desire,” he continued. He described the awardees as stars surrounded by a constellation of generosity and support.

Tony Cuyengkeng responded on behalf of the other awardees. He gave thanks not only to the coaching staff and the athletic department, but also to the professors who sharpened their minds and believed in the capability of their talent. “We never competed alone” he said.

Those who continued to support the athletics department of the Ateneo de Manila University were likewise honored that night. Ma. Pacita “Ching” Montinola and Merced Edit Rabat, also known as Tita Ching and Tita Edith, have been constantly involved in ASHOF meetings and gatherings. Though the two are not Ateneo Alumni, they have been present and involved in all activities and basketball games. Tita Edith passed away last August 26, 2009 but the presence of the two first ladies of ASHOF has brought elegance and distinction in it.


"Racela, Jun and Eric Reyes, Francisco, inducted into Ateneo Sports Hall of Fame" in Yahoo News