21 Fellows to the 14th Ateneo National Writers Workshop Named

April 25, 2016

The Ateneo Institute of Literary Arts and Practices (AILAP) and Kritika Kultura (KK) have selected 21 fellows for the 14th Ateneo National Writers Workshop (ANWW) to be held at the Ateneo de Manila University from May 23 to 28, 2016. The 14th ANWW is organized by AILAP and KK with the support of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA).

ANWW Artwork by Jeff Baligad


ANWW is the flagship project of the Creative Writing Desk of AILAP. Annually, 10 to 16 fellowships are given to writers from around the country who wish to undergo a week of intensive training in their respective genres, namely fiction, poetry, essay, and drama. This year ANWW has also accepted fellows representing different community and sector-based organizations.


In collaboration with Kritika Kultura, the internationally-recognized journal of language, literary, and cultural studies based in the Department of English, Ateneo de Manila University, ANWW has also accepted fellows working on critical essays on the theme of “Philippine Literature and Cultural Studies in the Age of Transnationalism and Diaspora.” The partnership between AILAP and KK aims to foster dialogue and collaboration between practitioners (both emerging and established) of creative and critical writing.


In addition to the workshop sessions, the fellows will attend talks and participate in group discussions about how they can translate their interests in writing into projects that can benefit their groups, communities, and sectors.


The fellows for the 14th ANWW are:


For poetry in English:

Luis Wilfrido J. Atienza (Makati City)

Jayson C. Jimenez (Pasig City)

Louyzza Maria Victoria Vasquez (Quezon City)


For poetry in Filipino:

Paterno B. Baloloy Jr. (Calauag, Quezon)

Beatriz Nicole C. Mariano (Taguig)

Ronald Ramos Jr. (Bolbok, Batangas City)

Romel G. Samson (Noveleta, Cavite)


For drama:

Jerome D. Ignacio (Quezon City)

Jayson Arvene T. Mondragon (Cabarroguis, Quirino)


For fiction in English:

Kenneth V. Ballena (Davao City)

Austere Rex P. Gamao (Sagay City, Negros Occidental)

Deo Charis I. Mostrales (Iligan City, Lanao del Norte)


For fiction in Filipino:

Jack A. Alvarez (Al-Khobar, Saudi Arabia/Cagayan de Oro) 

Lenin Carlos M. Mirasol (Baliuag, Bulacan)


For essay in English:

Reina Krizel J. Adriano (Quezon City)


For essay in Filipino:

John Leihmar C. Toledo (Quezon City)


For criticism:

Arbeen Regalado Acuña (Las Piñas City)

Christian Benitez (San Mateo, Rizal)

Raymon D. Ritumbán (Quezon City)

Neslie Carol Tan (Mandaluyong City)

Joseph Ching Velasco (Manila)


This year’s workshop director is Mark Anthony Cayanan.

For queries, write Christoffer Mitch C. Cerda, coordinator of ANWW 14, at ccerda@ateneo.edu or call him at (02)4266001 local 5320/5321.