Department History

50s Biology subjects are offered under the Department of Natural Sciences and Mathematics as preparation for medical studies.

1959 Coinciding with the designation of the school as the Ateneo de Manila University, students can now major in Biology. The Section of Chemistryand Biology is established under the Department of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, with Rev. John J. Bauer, S.J. as its Chairman.

1963 The Department of Biology is established, with Fr. Bauer as its first Chairperson.

1966 The course BS Biology is offered for the first time, along with AB Major in Pre-Medicine or Pre-Dentistry. The Chairperson is Mr. Jaime Joaquin.

1967 Rev. Francisco Perez, S.J. becomes Chairperson of the Department. The current BS Biology curriculum consists of 53 units of departmental courses, 20 units of chemistry, and 10 units of physics.

1971 Albert S. Lapid becomes the first BS Biology graduate.

1975 The student organization Bio-Premed is founded. It will soon come to be known as the Pre-Med Society of Ateneo

1976 Ma. Cristina S. Santos becomes the first female BS Biology graduate.

1992 Ma. Justina L. Bautista becomes the first from the program to graduate Summa Cum Laude and as Valedictorian.

1998 Coinciding with the restructuring of the college into the four Loyola Schools, the new BS Biology curriculum is introduced. Students can now choose between two tracks: medical research (A) and biological research (B).

2005 The student organization Biological Organization - eXplore. eXperience. eXcel. (BOx) is founded by alumnus and faculty member Ronald Allan L. Cruz (BS Bio ‟02).

2008 The Department restructures its programs. BS Biology is now a five-year program, and the four-year BS Life Sciences program is introduced. BOx is accredited as an official organization and is now recognized as the Ateneo Biological Organization.