Department of Environmental Science faculty members win 2016 National Academy of Science and Technology Awards

July 16, 2016

Ateneo de Manila University's Environmental Science Assistant Professor Dr. Ian A. Navarrete was awarded the 2016 National Academy of Science and Technology (NAST) Outstanding Young Scientist Award for Soil Science. Recipients of the award are young Filipino scientists who have contributed to the advancement of science and technology in the Philippines. Dr. Navarrete recognized that a better understanding and knowledge of soil is important in solving current global environmental problems, including climate change, food production and environmental health. His scientific work has contributed to the limited available knowledge on the origin, characteristics and formation of Philippine soil.

Dr. Ian A. Navarrete (middle) receiving the award with National Scientist Dr. Raul V. Fabella (left) and current NAST President Academician Dr. Fabian M. Dayrit (right).

Aside from Dr. Navarrete, Dr. Severino G. Salmo III received the 2016 NAST Award for Outstanding Scientific Paper for the study "An individual-based model of long-term forest growth and carbon sequestration in planted mangroves under salinity and inundation stresses," co-authored with Dr. Drandreb Earl O. Juanico from the Technological Institute of the Philippines. Said paper was published in the International Journal of Philippine Science and Technology.

Dr. Severino G. Salmo III (2nd from the left) receiving the award with co-author Dr. Dandreb Earl O. Juanico (2nd from the right), National Scientist Dr. Fabella (left) and Academician Dr. Dayrit (right).

The awarding ceremony was held last July 14, 2016.
Dr. Salmo has received an NAST award two years in a row as he was a recipient of the NAST Environmental Science Award in 2015. Dr. Charlotte Kendra Z. Gotangco, Assistant Professor in the ES Department, was also a recepient of an NAST award in 2015 as she was declared the second prize winner for the 2015 NAST Talent Search for Young Scientist.
The Department of Environmental Science is blessed to have its own faculty members win awards from NAST.