Ateneo is UAAP 81 Jrs. Baseball champ!

December 07, 2018
Nana Guzman & Paul Daza

The Ateneo de Manila Blue Eaglets clinched the UAAP Season 81 Juniors’ Baseball championship crown on December 4, 2018 at the Rizal Memorial Baseball Stadium. The blue-and-white defeated National University in game 2 of the best-of-three finals, 2-0, with Dax Fabella and Joaquin Casanova scoring on an infield single by Emilio Perez during the bottom of the first inning. Four Ateneans were also given individual awards during the awarding ceremony that followed the championship game. Matthew San Juan (GA/11-Fontoura) received the award for Most Runs Batted In while Dax Fabella (STEM/11-San Vitores) was awarded for Most Home Runs. Marcel Guzman (ABM/11-Borja) was awarded for Most Stolen Bases while Zach Urbina (GA/11-Goupil) was named Finals MVP.

The members of the champion team are Kean Agcaoili (GA/11-Garnet), Joaquin Casanova (STEM/11-San Vitores), Yuan de la Rosa (GA/11-Fontoura), Dax Fabella (STEM/11-San Vitores), Marcel Guzman (ABM/11-Borja), Ohmid Halabisaz (Pamplona/10-Zuraire), Zeke Laygo (GA/11-De Brito), Joaquin Mendoza (ABM/11-Angelis), Gabby Mendoza (Pamplona/9-Sitjar), Zach Peña (GA/11-Gonzaga), Emilio Perez (STEM/11-Perez), Rico Samson (Montserrat/10-Pacheco), Matthew San Juan (GA/11-Fontoura), Aloi Tuprio (GA/12-Grodecky), and Zach Urbina (GA/11-Goupil). They were coached by Randy Dizer, Pepe Jose, Jun Bonifacio and Emer Barandoc. 

(L-R) Ohmid Halabisaz, Rico Samson, and Gabby Mendoza are the three AJHS boys on the UAAP Season 81 champion junior baseball team.